For an automatic transfer switch for a rack, my best overall pick is the APC SU042X163, a 120V, 16A option that fits common rack-power needs without requiring a 30A circuit. The Eaton EATS30P stands out for higher-capacity 200–240V systems, while the Tripp Lite 15A metered ATS PDU suits buyers who want metering and an accessible 120V setup. The main tradeoffs are voltage and amperage compatibility, outlet layout, monitoring, and whether the rack has room for a 1U device. I compare those differences across all 13 models so you can match the switch to your input circuits and equipment. Read on for the full breakdown and a guide to avoiding common sizing mistakes.
Get business pricing on networking and server gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Key Takeaways
- The lineup splits sharply by electrical service: 120V models such as the APC SU042X163 and Vertiv Geist RPDU are not substitutes for 200–240V or 30A choices like the Eaton EATS30P.
- Capacity should follow the rack’s actual circuit and load: the Eaton’s 30A rating serves a different installation from the APC 16A and Tripp Lite 15A options.
- Metering and switching address different needs: the CyberPower and Tripp Lite metered models add load visibility, while a basic ATS may suit buyers who only need source failover.
- Outlet count does not tell the whole story: input connector type, output receptacles, plug orientation, and cord reach can determine whether a unit works with existing power feeds.
- Model details matter within a brand: the two NetShelter listings and the APC AP4452, AP4450, AP7721, and AP7723 have distinct model identities; confirm voltage, current, connectors, and monitoring before ordering.
| APC SU042X163 120V 16A Rack Automatic Transfer Switch | ![]() | Best for Straightforward 120V Rack Redundancy | Model: SU042X163 | Operating voltage: 120V | Operation mode: Automatic | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CyberPower PDU24001 Metered ATS PDU | ![]() | Best for Metered 120V Rack Distribution | Voltage: 120V | Amperage: 15A, derated to 12A | Maximum power: 1800W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton EATS30P Automatic Transfer Switch 200-240V NEMA L6-30P 30A | ![]() | Best for Fast 200–240V Source Switching | Model: EATS30P | Operating voltage: 200–240V | Maximum current: Up to 24A | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| APC by Schneider Electric NetShelter Automatic Transfer Switch AP4453A | ![]() | Best for Managed Single-Corded IT Loads | Model: AP4453A | Operation mode: Automatic | Operating voltage: 120V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| APC Rack-Mount Transfer Switch 120V/20A (AP4452) | ![]() | Best for Remote-Controlled 120V Outlet Distribution | Model: AP4452 | Voltage: 120V | Amperage: 20A | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tripp Lite Metered PDU with Auto-Transfer Switch, 15A, 120V, 8 Outlets, 1U Rackmount, TAA Compliant | ![]() | Best for Metered 120V Racks | Input voltage: 120V | Power capacity: 1.44kW | Outlets: 8 NEMA 5-15/20R | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| APC AP7723 Automatic Transfer Switch – Redundant Rack-Mountable 1U, AC 230 V, Ethernet 10/100, RS-232, 9 Output Connectors | ![]() | Best for Managed 230V Installations | Operating voltage: 230V AC | Form factor: 1U rack-mountable | Output connectors: 9 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| APC Automatic Transfer Switch, Model 14875405000 | ![]() | Best for Straightforward 208V Switching | Operating voltage: 208V | Rack height: 1U | Dimensions: 17 x 9.3 x 1.7 inches | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| APC AP7721 Rack Automatic Transfer Switch | ![]() | Best for Racks Needing 12 Always-On Outlets | Input voltage: 230V | Outlets: 12 always-on outlets | Input connection: IEC-320 C14 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Tripp Lite Switched PDU with ATS, 2/2.4KW, 200/240V, 10 Outlets, 2 C14 Inputs, 3.6M Cords, 1U Rack-Mount, TAA | ![]() | Best for Remote Outlet Control | Voltage: 200/240V | Power capacity: 2–2.4kW | Outlets: 10 total: 8 switched and 2 unswitched C13 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| APC by Schneider Electric NetShelter Automatic Transfer Switch | ![]() | Best for Network-Managed 1U Installations | Model: AP4452A | Current: 20 A | Operating voltage: 120 V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vertiv Geist Rack Transfer Switch RPDU – 1U, 20A, 120V, 1.9kW, (10) NEMA 5-20R Receptacles, (2) NEMA 5-20P Plug | ![]() | Best for Local Status and Redundant Inputs | Power capacity: 1.9 kW | Input voltage: 120 V | Current: 20 A | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| APC AP4450 10-Outlets 1440VA Rack Mountable Automatic Transfer Switch | ![]() | Best for Buyers Prioritizing Outlet Count and Metal Construction | Model: AP4450 | Capacity: 1440 VA | Output wattage: 1070 W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
More Details on Our Top Picks
APC SU042X163 120V 16A Rack Automatic Transfer Switch
I’d shortlist the SU042X163 for a rack that needs automatic source switching without relying on a screen or network-management features. Its stated 120V, 16A design and rack-mount format suit a focused single-corded load, while the rotary operation keeps local control simple. Compared with the CyberPower PDU24001, this APC listing gives less visibility into operating conditions: CyberPower has a metered LCD and ten outlets, while this model’s supplied details do not specify a digital display or outlet count. That simplicity can be a plus in a fixed installation, but the listed dimensions are substantial and the unit is not a portable option. I’d also verify the exact current rating and rack fit before ordering, since the supplied product data describes it as 16A but separately mentions a 20A rating.
Pros:- Automatic transfer supports continuity for a rack load with redundant sources.
- 120V rating suits compatible North American rack systems.
- Rotary operation provides straightforward local control.
- Rack-mounted design is suited to a fixed installation.
Cons:- No detailed user interface or digital display is specified.
- Product data gives conflicting 16A and 20A current references, so capacity needs confirmation.
- Listed dimensions make it less suited to a tight rack or portable setup.
Best for: Rack operators who need a basic automatic 120V transfer switch and prefer local rotary operation over metering or network features.
Not ideal for: Teams that need a detailed status display, remote monitoring, a specified outlet count, or a compact unit with clearly confirmed current capacity.
- Model:SU042X163
- Operating voltage:120V
- Operation mode:Automatic
- Connectivity protocol:X-10
- Dimensions:14 x 9 x 23 inches
- Weight:15 lb
- Color:Charcoal
Our verdict“Choose this APC when you want a simple, fixed 120V rack ATS and can confirm its current rating and physical fit before deployment.”
CyberPower PDU24001 Metered ATS PDU
The PDU24001 is the clearest fit here when outlet count and at-a-glance status matter as much as automatic source selection. Its 10 outlets, dual NEMA 5-15P input cords, and adjustable LCD make it more informative and flexible for a small network rack than the APC SU042X163, whose supplied details offer no display or outlet count. The 1U metal chassis also makes rack placement straightforward, and firmware upgradeability adds a maintenance path. The tradeoff is capacity: the unit is listed at 15A, derated to 12A, with a maximum of 1800W, so buyers should size the connected load against the derated figure rather than the headline amperage. It is also limited to 120V and lacks wireless connectivity, making it less suited to higher-voltage installations or teams seeking remote access without a wired management setup.
Pros:- Ten outlets provide more connection flexibility than the single-output Eaton EATS30P.
- LCD shows operating information locally without a separate management console.
- Dual NEMA 5-15P input cords support redundant source connections.
- Metal 1U enclosure and firmware upgradeability suit managed rack environments.
Cons:- 15A rating is derated to 12A, limiting usable load capacity.
- 120V-only design does not fit 200–240V rack power.
- No wireless connectivity is specified.
Best for: Small data-center and network-rack operators who want ten 120V outlets, local load information, and dual-source inputs in a 1U PDU.
Not ideal for: Buyers with loads that approach the 12A derated limit, higher-voltage power, or a requirement for wireless monitoring.
- Voltage:120V
- Amperage:15A, derated to 12A
- Maximum power:1800W
- Number of outlets:10
- Form factor:1U rackmount
- Input cords:Dual NEMA 5-15P
- Enclosure material:Metal
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Pick the CyberPower for a modest-load 120V rack where ten outlets and a readable local display outweigh the 12A derated ceiling.”
Eaton EATS30P Automatic Transfer Switch 200-240V NEMA L6-30P 30A
For a rack powered by 200–240V sources, the Eaton EATS30P fills a different role from the 120V APC and CyberPower options. Its stated 10 ms transfer time is aimed at reducing the chance that a connected device drops during a source change, and SNMP or browser monitoring gives administrators a way to check status remotely. Dual L6-30P inputs make it relevant to compatible higher-voltage infrastructure, while one L6-30R output keeps the connection path simple. That single output is also its main limitation: unlike the CyberPower PDU24001’s ten outlets, the Eaton is not a distribution hub for multiple devices. At 22 lb, it is heavier than the APC AP4452, and buyers need to confirm their rack, plug, and load requirements because the listed operating range is 200–240V and up to 24A.
Pros:- 10 ms transfer time is suited to equipment sensitive to source interruption.
- SNMP and web monitoring support remote status checks.
- Dual NEMA L6-30P inputs accommodate redundant compatible sources.
- 1U form factor keeps the unit low-profile in a rack.
Cons:- Single L6-30R output limits direct connection to one load.
- 22 lb weight can make rack installation more demanding.
- 200–240V L6-30 setup is incompatible with common 120V rack devices.
Best for: Data-center teams with compatible 200–240V L6-30 power who need fast automatic transfer and network-based status monitoring for a single load.
Not ideal for: 120V rack owners or buyers who need multiple output receptacles from one ATS.
- Model:EATS30P
- Operating voltage:200–240V
- Maximum current:Up to 24A
- Input plugs:Dual NEMA L6-30P
- Output receptacle:Single NEMA L6-30R
- Transfer time:10 ms
- Monitoring:SNMP and web interface
- Rack size:1U
- Weight:22 lb
Our verdict“Choose the Eaton when your rack uses compatible 200–240V L6-30 feeds and fast, monitored switching matters more than multiple outlets.”
APC by Schneider Electric NetShelter Automatic Transfer Switch AP4453A
The NetShelter AP4453A is aimed at buyers who want a purpose-built rack ATS for single-corded IT equipment, with control and manageability positioned as part of the package. That makes it a stronger match for managed rack environments than the simpler APC SU042X163, whose listing emphasizes automatic operation and rotary control but provides little interface detail. The AP4453A is specified for 120V and 1152W, so it belongs in a modest-load 120V setup rather than a higher-voltage rack like the Eaton EATS30P. Its plug-in mounting is presented as an installation convenience, though the 20.5 lb weight still calls for a suitable rack support plan. The supplied specifications do not give an outlet count or spell out the management interfaces, so I’d confirm those details against the deployment needs before choosing it over the more explicitly specified CyberPower PDU24001.
Pros:- Designed to provide redundant power to single-corded rack equipment.
- Automatic operation supports unattended source selection.
- Plug-in mounting is suited to rack installation.
- APC NetShelter positioning targets managed IT rack environments.
Cons:- 120V and 1152W limits rule out many higher-voltage or heavier-load uses.
- At 20.5 lb, installation needs adequate rack support.
- Supplied data does not specify outlet count or management interfaces.
Best for: IT teams managing single-corded 120V equipment in a rack who want an APC NetShelter ATS focused on redundancy and manageability.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need 200–240V support, a confirmed high-load rating, or clearly documented outlet and management-interface details.
- Model:AP4453A
- Operation mode:Automatic
- Operating voltage:120V
- Wattage:1152W
- Circuit type:2-way
- Contact type:Normally open
- Mounting type:Plug-in mount
- Material:Copper
- Weight:20.5 lb
Our verdict“Consider the AP4453A for managed, single-corded 120V rack equipment, but verify its connections and management features before purchase.”
APC Rack-Mount Transfer Switch 120V/20A (AP4452)
The AP4452 makes the most sense when a rack needs more than source redundancy: its 10 outlets, remote on/off switching, and load monitoring add day-to-day control that the basic APC SU042X163 listing does not describe. Its 120V/20A rating also gives it a clearly stated electrical target, unlike the conflicting current references supplied for that older APC model. Compared with the CyberPower PDU24001, the AP4452 is listed at 20A rather than a 12A derated load, while CyberPower provides a defined LCD and metal enclosure. The AP4452’s listed plastic enclosure and unspecified surge protection are meaningful tradeoffs for a rack intended to protect critical equipment. I’d also check the output-wattage field, which is listed as 20W and may need clarification before matching it to a real load.
Pros:- Ten outlets support several rack devices from one transfer switch.
- Remote on/off control adds management beyond automatic source switching.
- Load monitoring helps operators track connected demand.
- 20A, 120V specification is clearly stated for compatible service.
Cons:- Limited to 120V/20A installations.
- No built-in surge protection is specified.
- Plastic enclosure and the listed 20W output figure warrant verification for critical loads.
Best for: Rack administrators with 120V/20A service who want ten outlets plus remote switching and load monitoring for connected equipment.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need 200–240V support, specified surge protection, a metal enclosure, or an unambiguous output-wattage specification.
- Model:AP4452
- Voltage:120V
- Amperage:20A
- Number of outlets:10
- Form factor:Rack-mountable
- Output wattage:20W as listed
- Enclosure material:Plastic
- Weight:9.7 lb
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose the AP4452 for a 120V/20A rack that needs multiple outlets and remote control, after confirming the output specification and protection requirements.”
Tripp Lite Metered PDU with Auto-Transfer Switch, 15A, 120V, 8 Outlets, 1U Rackmount, TAA Compliant
I’d put this Tripp Lite first for buyers who need 120V automatic transfer switching paired with a straightforward view of electrical load. Its digital meter can help operators spot an overloaded circuit before adding equipment, while the two 12-foot input cords allow connection to separate power sources. Compared with the APC AP7723, which is built for 230V systems and offers network and serial interfaces, this model is a more direct fit for 120V installations but provides less documented remote integration. Eight outlets also make it a better match for a modest rack than a dense deployment. It supports rack or wall mounting and carries TAA compliance, but the supplied information does not mention surge protection. I’d choose it when local load visibility matters more than remote management or a higher outlet count.
Pros:- Meter displays load in real time to help identify overload risk.
- Automatic switching and dual input cords support two-source power arrangements.
- Can mount in a 1U rack space or on a wall.
- TAA compliance suits buyers with federal procurement requirements.
Cons:- Eight outlets may limit expansion in a device-dense rack.
- No built-in surge protection is specified.
- No Ethernet or serial management interface is listed.
Best for: IT teams with a modest 120V network rack that want dual-source switching, local load monitoring, and a rack-or-wall mounting option.
Not ideal for: Operators of large racks needing more than eight outlets, remote power management, or specified surge protection.
- Input voltage:120V
- Power capacity:1.44kW
- Outlets:8 NEMA 5-15/20R
- Input cords:Two 12-foot cords with 5-15P plugs
- Mounting:1U rack or wall mount
- Compliance:TAA
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose this Tripp Lite when your rack runs on 120V and metered load visibility matters more than outlet count or remote control.”
APC AP7723 Automatic Transfer Switch – Redundant Rack-Mountable 1U, AC 230 V, Ethernet 10/100, RS-232, 9 Output Connectors
The AP7723 is the clearest choice here for a 230V rack that needs management connectivity: it combines 1U mounting with Ethernet 10/100 and RS-232 interfaces. Those ports can fit into a monitored infrastructure more readily than the local metering emphasis of the Tripp Lite 15A Metered PDU, which is designed for 120V service. The AP7723’s nine output connectors support compatible APC power modules, but that compatibility requirement narrows its appeal; buyers should verify their exact module and load configuration before selecting it. Its 230V-only operation also rules it out for ordinary 120V rack setups. I’d rank it above simpler options when integration is the priority, but not as a universal rack ATS: connector compatibility and voltage are defining limits, and the supplied data does not state a current or power capacity.
Pros:- Ethernet 10/100 and RS-232 support system integration.
- 1U rack form factor preserves rack space.
- Nine output connectors support compatible APC power modules.
Cons:- Operates at 230V AC only.
- Compatibility is restricted to specific APC power modules.
- Current and power capacity are not provided in the supplied specifications.
Best for: Data-center teams running 230V equipment with compatible APC power modules that need Ethernet or RS-232 connectivity in a 1U ATS.
Not ideal for: Owners of 120V racks or buyers who need broad, clearly specified outlet compatibility and a documented power capacity.
- Operating voltage:230V AC
- Form factor:1U rack-mountable
- Output connectors:9
- Connectivity:Ethernet 10/100 and RS-232
- Model number:AP7723
- Color:Black
Our verdict“Pick the AP7723 for a compatible 230V APC installation where management interfaces matter more than broad device compatibility.”
APC Automatic Transfer Switch, Model 14875405000
This APC model suits buyers who want a basic 1U automatic switch for a 208V rack and do not need the supplied description to promise network management. Its 16A rating gives it a different fit from the 15A, 120V Tripp Lite Metered PDU: voltage and circuit design, not a small feature difference, determine which one belongs in a rack. The APC’s C13/C14 connector type and two-way switching describe a compact installation, while its stated dimensions provide useful planning information. Against the more connected APC AP7723, this listing offers no Ethernet or RS-232 details, so I would not select it for remote oversight. The product data also does not specify outlet count or power capacity, making it harder to match to a particular equipment load without confirming the full configuration.
Pros:- Automatic two-way switching in a rack-mountable 1U format.
- 16A rating is specified for matching against the rack circuit.
- C13/C14 connector type and physical dimensions are listed.
- Metal-and-plastic construction is specified.
Cons:- No outlet count or power capacity is stated in the supplied data.
- Remote monitoring interfaces are not listed.
- At 12.15 pounds, it is heavier than a lightweight rack accessory.
Best for: Rack operators with a 208V supply who need an automatic 16A, 1U switch and can confirm connector and output details before ordering.
Not ideal for: 120V installations, buyers who need specified outlet counts or remote monitoring, and anyone unable to verify load compatibility.
- Operating voltage:208V
- Rack height:1U
- Dimensions:17 x 9.3 x 1.7 inches
- Weight:12.15 pounds
- Connector type:IEC 60320 C13/C14
- Switching:Automatic, two-way
- Mounting:Rack mount
Our verdict“Consider this APC for a verified 208V, 16A rack setup when basic automatic switching is enough and output details are confirmed.”
APC AP7721 Rack Automatic Transfer Switch
The AP7721 stands out for its stated 12 always-on outlets, making it a practical candidate when a rack has several devices that should remain connected through a power-source change. That outlet count exceeds the eight on the Tripp Lite 15A Metered PDU, though the Tripp Lite is the clearer choice for buyers who want documented real-time load monitoring and 120V operation. The AP7721 instead specifies a 230V input and IEC-320 C14 connection, so it belongs in a compatible power environment rather than a standard 120V rack. The supplied details describe rack mounting and Class A regulatory approvals, but do not list remote interfaces, current rating, or switching timing. I’d shortlist it for outlet capacity, then verify electrical compatibility and management needs before choosing it over the better-documented AP7723.
Pros:- Twelve always-on outlets provide connections for multiple rack devices.
- 230V input and IEC-320 C14 connection are specified.
- Designed for rack mounting.
- Lists EN 55022 Class A and FCC Part 15 Class A approvals.
Cons:- 230V input limits use to compatible electrical systems.
- Current rating and power capacity are not provided in the supplied data.
- Remote management interfaces are not specified.
Best for: Operators of compatible 230V racks who need 12 always-on outlets for multiple network or server devices.
Not ideal for: 120V rack owners or teams that require documented remote management, current capacity, or detailed installation guidance.
- Input voltage:230V
- Outlets:12 always-on outlets
- Input connection:IEC-320 C14
- Product dimensions:4.5 x 13.75 x 23.62 inches
- Regulatory approvals:EN 55022 Class A; FCC Part 15 Class A
- Product type:Rack automatic transfer switch
Our verdict“Choose the AP7721 when a compatible 230V rack needs 12 always-on outlets and you do not depend on documented remote monitoring.”
Tripp Lite Switched PDU with ATS, 2/2.4KW, 200/240V, 10 Outlets, 2 C14 Inputs, 3.6M Cords, 1U Rack-Mount, TAA
I’d choose this Tripp Lite for a 200/240V rack that needs remote outlet control alongside automatic transfer switching. Its 10 outlets include eight switched outlets and two unswitched C13 outlets, giving operators a way to control selected devices while keeping others continuously connected. That is a more active management setup than the outlet-focused APC AP7721, whose supplied description lists 12 always-on outlets but no remote control. The Tripp Lite also includes a digital load meter and two C14 inputs with 3.6-meter cords, which can help with load checks and source placement. The tradeoffs are a 2–2.4kW capacity ceiling and a setup that may call for technical knowledge. No surge protection is specified, so I’d treat it as a switching and distribution unit, not a substitute for dedicated surge protection.
Pros:- Remote control can switch eight designated outlets.
- Digital load meter helps track current draw.
- Two C14 inputs support redundant power-source connections.
- Ten outlets include eight switched and two unswitched C13 outlets.
Cons:- Power capacity is limited to 2–2.4kW.
- Configuration may require technical knowledge.
- Surge protection is not specified.
Best for: Data-center and network teams with a 200/240V rack that want remote control of selected outlets, load monitoring, and dual-source ATS functionality.
Not ideal for: 120V installations, high-load racks exceeding 2.4kW, or buyers seeking specified surge protection and a simple plug-in setup.
- Voltage:200/240V
- Power capacity:2–2.4kW
- Outlets:10 total: 8 switched and 2 unswitched C13
- Input connectors:Two C14 IEC-320
- Cord length:3.6 meters
- Mounting:1U rack-mount
- Features:Automatic transfer switch, remote outlet control, digital load meter
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Pick this Tripp Lite for a compatible 200/240V rack where remote outlet control and load monitoring justify a more involved setup.”
APC by Schneider Electric NetShelter Automatic Transfer Switch
I’d shortlist this NetShelter model for a rack that needs network-managed automatic power switching without taking more than 1U. Its 20A, 120V rating and ten NEMA 5-20R outlets suit a group of compatible server-room devices, while the NMC3 control option gives administrators a way to manage it through their existing network setup. Compared with the Vertiv Geist RPDU, the APC listing emphasizes NMC3 management rather than a built-in high-contrast LCD and the stated security features. The tradeoff is that the supplied details don’t explain advanced switching behavior or monitoring functions, so buyers should verify those capabilities before planning around them. At nearly 15 pounds, it also needs secure rack support, and its 20A limit rules it out for higher-load equipment.
Pros:- 1U rack-mountable form factor conserves rack space.
- Ten NEMA 5-20R receptacles support multiple compatible devices.
- NMC3 network-management control suits managed rack environments.
- Copper construction and APC branding are specified in the product data.
Cons:- 20A rating limits use with higher-power equipment.
- The provided details do not spell out advanced ATS features.
- At 14.95 pounds, it calls for sturdy mounting and rack support.
Best for: Data-center and server-room administrators who need a 1U, 120V, 20A ATS with network-management capability for compatible rack equipment.
Not ideal for: Operators powering loads above 20A, or buyers who need clearly documented switching and monitoring functions before selecting hardware.
- Model:AP4452A
- Current:20 A
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Receptacles:10 x NEMA 5-20R
- Rack height:1U
- Input connector:L5-20
- Control type:Network Management Card 3 (NMC3)
- Weight:14.95 lb
Our verdict“Choose this APC when network management and ten outlets in a 1U, 20A rack ATS matter more than a built-in display or fully detailed switching specifications.”
Vertiv Geist Rack Transfer Switch RPDU – 1U, 20A, 120V, 1.9kW, (10) NEMA 5-20R Receptacles, (2) NEMA 5-20P Plug
The Vertiv Geist RPDU is the clearest fit here for buyers who want at-a-glance status and two specified input plugs in a 1U ATS. Its high-contrast LCD can make local checks simpler than relying only on the APC NetShelter model’s listed NMC3 network-management approach. The Vertiv listing also calls out secure boot and power-sharing ports, features aimed at enterprise installations where equipment security and redundant feeds matter. Its stated 1.9kW capacity is a useful planning limit, but this remains a 20A, 120V unit—not a substitute for the higher-current Eaton EATS30P when a compatible 30A circuit is required. The tradeoffs are its 15-pound weight and a stated need for professional installation for optimal setup; buyers should also confirm the unusually large listed dimensions against their rack and installation plan.
Pros:- High-contrast LCD supports quick local status checks.
- Two NEMA 5-20P plugs are specified for the inputs.
- Secure boot and security features are identified in the product details.
- Ten NEMA 5-20R outlets fit multiple compatible devices in a 1U rack format.
Cons:- 20A and 1.9kW limits exclude higher-load setups.
- At 15 pounds, it needs suitable rack support.
- Professional installation is recommended, and the listed dimensions merit checking before purchase.
Best for: Enterprise IT teams with single-corded 120V rack devices that need local LCD status, two input plugs, and specified security features.
Not ideal for: Buyers needing more than 20A, a lightweight installation, or a compact fit they cannot verify against the listed dimensions.
- Power capacity:1.9 kW
- Input voltage:120 V
- Current:20 A
- Receptacles:10 x NEMA 5-20R
- Input plugs:2 x NEMA 5-20P
- Mounting:1U rack
- Weight:15 lb
- Listed dimensions:30 x 26 x 5 in
Our verdict“Pick the Vertiv when its LCD, two specified inputs, and security features suit your rack better than the APC NetShelter’s network-management emphasis.”
APC AP4450 10-Outlets 1440VA Rack Mountable Automatic Transfer Switch
The AP4450 earns a distinct place for buyers focused on a ten-outlet rack ATS with a metal enclosure and a stated 1440VA capacity. That gives it a straightforward appeal for distributing power among multiple rack devices, but the supplied information leaves more unanswered questions than the APC NetShelter AP4452A listing: it does not specify an input connector, rack height, or detailed automatic-switching behavior. Its listed output wattage is 1070W, so buyers should size their actual equipment against that figure rather than treating the 1440VA figure as available wattage. The stated 150A output current also deserves verification against the product documentation and intended circuit before purchase. Compared with the Vertiv Geist, this APC listing provides less information about display, security, and input arrangement.
Pros:- Ten outlets support multiple rack devices.
- Metal enclosure is specified.
- Rack-mountable design is identified in the product description.
- The listing provides both 1440VA capacity and 1070W output wattage.
Cons:- Automatic transfer features are not detailed in the supplied information.
- Input connector and rack-height specifications are not provided.
- The stated 150A output current should be verified before system planning.
Best for: Rack owners whose priority is ten outlets and a metal enclosure, and who can confirm the input, mounting, and electrical details before ordering.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need documented input connections, rack-height dimensions, or clearly explained ATS behavior to validate a deployment.
- Model:AP4450
- Capacity:1440 VA
- Output wattage:1070 W
- Listed output current:150 A
- Output voltage:120 V
- Number of outlets:10
- Enclosure material:Metal
- Power plug type:Type B, 3-pin North American
Our verdict“Consider the AP4450 if ten outlets and a metal enclosure lead your shortlist, but confirm its electrical and rack-fit details before choosing it over the better-specified Vertiv or NetShelter models.”

How We Picked
I ranked these rack transfer switches around the fit that matters most to a rack buyer: electrical compatibility, transfer function, usable output layout, rack fit, and monitoring. A unit’s stated voltage and amperage must match the available circuits and the connected equipment; a higher rating is not an advantage if the rack cannot supply it. I also weighed whether metering or remote management adds useful visibility, and whether the listed outlets and inputs suit ordinary rack cabling.
The ranking favors options with a clearly stated, practical use case and a balance of fit and capability, rather than treating every ATS as interchangeable. Models with specialized 200–240V or 30A requirements rank for buyers who have that service, not as universal picks. The supplied product names do not provide full specifications for every listing, so I treat unclear model variants cautiously and recommend checking the manufacturer’s current documentation before purchase.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Automatic Transfer Switch For Rack
Before choosing a model, I would work from the rack’s power path outward: identify the available circuits, verify the equipment’s input requirements, and then check how the ATS will connect and fit. These broader checks can prevent a device that looks right on paper from becoming an incompatible or awkward installation.
Match Voltage and Amperage to the Rack Feed
Start with the electrical service feeding the rack, not the ATS name or outlet count. A 120V, 15A or 16A unit cannot serve as a direct replacement for a 200–240V, 30A model, and a higher-rated switch does not increase the capacity of the circuit upstream. Check both input sources: an ATS needs compatible, independent feeds to provide meaningful redundancy. Compare the equipment’s total draw with the usable circuit capacity, leaving room for changing loads and startup behavior. A frequent mistake is to buy for the server’s peak nameplate draw alone while overlooking switches, storage, and other devices on the same PDU. If the circuit rating or connector is unclear, confirm it with the electrician or facilities team before ordering.
Confirm the Two Sources Are Truly Independent
An ATS can move a load between inputs, but it cannot create a second power source where none exists. For useful redundancy, the two feeds should have separate upstream paths, such as distinct UPS outputs or building circuits; two outlets on the same failed branch may offer little protection. Check whether both sources can carry the rack’s load, including any expected growth. Also verify how the switch behaves when one input is present but outside the acceptable voltage or frequency range. Buyers often focus on transfer speed while missing the more basic question of whether the backup source can sustain the equipment. Map the full path from utility or generator through UPS, ATS, and PDU before choosing a topology.
Treat Input Plugs and Output Receptacles as Fit Requirements
Connector compatibility can rule out a model even when its electrical rating looks suitable. Match each input plug to the actual receptacle on the UPS or branch circuit, and check output receptacle types against every device cord in the rack. Count not just outlets but the outlet spacing and orientation, since bulky power supplies can block neighboring sockets. Cord length and cable routing matter in a dense rack, especially when the two sources enter from different sides. Do not assume that an adapter solves a mismatch: adapters can affect grounding, strain relief, and rated capacity. I would make a connector map before purchase and compare it against the switch’s official drawing or specification sheet.
Decide Whether Metering or Remote Management Is Worth the Complexity
Metering helps operators see how much load is on a PDU, which can support capacity planning and reveal an overloaded branch before it becomes an outage. Network or serial management can be useful when the rack is unattended, but it adds configuration, access-control, and maintenance work. A basic switch may be the better choice for a small rack whose load is already monitored elsewhere. Check whether the feature reports input status, output load, alarms, or only a subset of those readings; the word “metered” alone does not say what you can observe. Consider who will receive alerts and who can maintain the management interface. Paying for monitoring makes most sense when the information will change an operational decision.
Plan for Rack Space, Cooling, and Service Access
A 1U form factor is convenient, but it still occupies rack space and adds cables that need support and airflow clearance. Check the device’s depth, mounting orientation, cord exit direction, and included rail or bracket details rather than relying on rack-unit height alone. Make sure the ATS can be reached for status checks and that its inputs can be unplugged without disturbing adjacent equipment. A crowded rack may favor a layout with accessible outlets over a larger outlet count packed into a tight face. Think through how technicians will identify the two sources during maintenance; clear labeling can prevent accidental loss of both feeds. If the rack is already near its thermal or space limit, compare the installation drawing with the cabinet before committing.
Buy for the Load You Need to Protect, Not a Spec Sheet Maximum
Choose a switch based on the critical devices that need alternate power, then verify their combined draw and connector needs. Putting every rack component on one ATS can exceed its capacity or make a single switching issue affect noncritical equipment. Separating essential servers from peripherals may provide a cleaner design, though it can require more rack outlets and careful circuit planning. A premium model can make sense when higher current, remote visibility, or a specialized connector is required; it is harder to justify when those features go unused. Leave capacity for planned growth, but do not confuse spare rating with a substitute for a suitable upstream circuit. A written load list makes it easier to compare models and explain the choice to whoever maintains the rack.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I connect an automatic transfer switch to two outlets on the same UPS?
You can connect compatible inputs that way only if the switch and UPS documentation permit it, but it usually provides limited redundancy. If both outlets depend on the same UPS, a UPS failure can remove power from both ATS inputs at once. The switch may still help with a failed outlet or separate output path, but it does not replace an independent source. Check the UPS output capacity and the ATS input requirements before connecting them. For stronger protection, plan separate upstream power paths and confirm they can each support the protected load.
Should I choose a 120V model or a 200–240V model for my rack?
Choose the voltage that matches the rack’s available circuits and the equipment’s power supplies; the voltage listed for an ATS is not a flexible setting. The roundup includes 120V options such as the APC SU042X163 and Vertiv Geist RPDU, as well as 200–240V models such as the Eaton EATS30P. Confirm the input connector and output receptacles too, since those may differ along with voltage. Do not use an adapter to force a mismatch without qualified electrical review. If the rack supports multiple voltages, base the choice on the intended circuit and the full connected load.
Do I need a metered ATS, or is a basic transfer switch enough?
A basic ATS can be enough when your only requirement is switching the load between two suitable sources and another system already tracks power use. Metering becomes more useful when you need to monitor load against circuit capacity, plan equipment additions, or investigate repeated source changes. The CyberPower and Tripp Lite metered listings offer a different emphasis from models identified mainly by their transfer function. Verify what the meter actually reports and whether readings are local or available remotely. If nobody will review the data or act on alarms, a simpler unit may be easier to maintain.
Can one rack ATS power servers with dual power supplies?
Often, dual-corded servers are better served by having each power supply connected to a separate independent source, rather than placing both cords behind one ATS. That arrangement can preserve power if one source or PDU fails, provided the server supports operation on one supply and each path has enough capacity. An ATS may still be appropriate for single-cord equipment or a design where one switched output is intentional. Review the server manufacturer’s guidance and your rack’s power architecture before connecting both cords to the same device. Labeling the A and B paths also helps prevent maintenance from defeating the redundancy.
What should I verify when two listings use the same product name?
Compare the exact model number and manufacturer specification sheet rather than relying on a shared family name. In this roundup, the APC NetShelter Automatic Transfer Switch appears twice, while several other APC models have distinct identifiers and ratings. Check voltage, amperage, input plugs, outlet count and type, monitoring interfaces, dimensions, and included mounting hardware. A listing title can omit a suffix or reflect a different revision, so confirm the product label and documentation match the intended installation. If the seller cannot clarify the exact variant, I would choose a listing with unambiguous manufacturer details.
Conclusion
For most buyers with a compatible 120V rack, I would start with the APC SU042X163 as the best overall because its 16A specification gives it a clear, practical role in this lineup. The Tripp Lite 15A metered ATS PDU is my value-oriented choice for buyers who want 120V switching plus load visibility, while the Eaton EATS30P is the premium fit for racks built around compatible 200–240V, 30A service. Beginners should favor a clearly documented 120V model such as the SU042X163, then verify plugs and circuit capacity before installation. For a 120V rack needing a listed 20A, 1U design and ten NEMA 5-20R outlets, the Vertiv Geist RPDU is a specific-use candidate. My final check for every buyer is the same: confirm both independent inputs, the upstream circuit rating, connectors, and the exact model variant before ordering.
Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples' Day Picks
long weekend sales
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.













