Choosing a Layer 3 switch for an enterprise edge means balancing local routing, PoE capacity, uplink bandwidth, and the management model your team can support. I put the ExtremeSwitching 5320-48P-8XE first for dense access deployments that need many PoE+ ports and eight 10GbE uplinks. The MikroTik CRS328-24P-4S+RM is my flexible smaller-site pick, while the ExtremeSwitching 5320-16P-4XE suits compact edge closets that still need enterprise security features.
Get business pricing on networking and server gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
The key tradeoff is not simply port count. Some options offer a clearer enterprise management and routing story; others provide useful hardware flexibility but ask more of the administrator, or have less explicit Layer 3 detail in the supplied specifications. I compare them by how well they fit real edge roles, not by treating every 48-port PoE switch as interchangeable.
Key Takeaways
- Best for dense, scalable edge access: ExtremeSwitching 5320-48P-8XE combines 48 PoE+ ports with eight 10GbE uplinks and stackable Layer 3 positioning.
- Best for compact enterprise closets: ExtremeSwitching 5320-16P-4XE pairs 16 PoE+ ports with four 10GbE uplinks, 802.1X, ACLs, and ExtremeCloud IQ management.
- Best for flexible smaller deployments: MikroTik CRS328-24P-4S+RM offers 24 PoE ports, four SFP+ ports, and a choice of RouterOS or SwOS, with a steeper setup curve.
- Best for a legacy 48-port PoE refresh: HP 2920-48G-PoE+ provides Layer 3 managed switching, but its renewed status and limited supplied software details call for careful verification.
- Check routing scope before buying: Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch ES-48-500W is Layer 2 with optional Layer 3 routing, so it is not the safest choice when full Layer 3 capability is a hard requirement.
| Extreme Networks ExtremeSwitching 5320-48P-8XE 48-Port PoE+ Managed Switch with 10GbE Uplinks | ![]() | Best Overall for Dense, Scalable Edge Access | Access ports: 48 PoE+ ports | Uplinks: 8 × 10GbE SFP+ | Switch type: Managed, modular | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Extreme Networks ExtremeSwitching 5320-16P-4XE 16-Port PoE+ Managed Switch with 4 10GbE SFP+ Uplinks | ![]() | Best Compact Enterprise Edge Switch | Access ports: 16 Gigabit Ethernet | Uplinks: 4 × 10GbE SFP+ | PoE: IEEE 802.3af/at PoE+ | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| MikroTik CRS328-24P-4S+RM 24-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch with 4 SFP+ Ports and PoE | ![]() | Best Flexible Mid-Size PoE Pick | Access ports: 24 Gigabit Ethernet | Uplinks: 4 × 10Gbps SFP+ | PoE: Up to 30W per port listed | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| HP J9729A#ABA 2920-48G-PoE+ Switch (Renewed) | ![]() | Best for a Legacy 48-Port Refresh | Access ports: 48 | Port media: Twisted pair | PoE: PoE+ | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch ES-48-500W Managed PoE Gigabit Switch with SFP | ![]() | Best for Layer 2-First Networks with Optional Routing | Access ports: 48 Gigabit Ethernet | SFP uplinks: 2 × 1Gbps | SFP+ uplinks: 2 × 10Gbps | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| layer 3 switches for enterprise edge | Access ports | Uplinks | Weight | PoE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Extreme Networks ExtremeSwitch | 48 PoE+ ports | 8 × 10GbE SFP+ | 6.7 kg | — |
| Extreme Networks ExtremeSwitch | 16 Gigabit Ethernet | 4 × 10GbE SFP+ | 5.24 kg | IEEE 802.3af/at PoE+ |
| MikroTik CRS328-24P-4S+RM 24-P | 24 Gigabit Ethernet | 4 × 10Gbps SFP+ | — | Up to 30W per port listed |
| HP J9729A#ABA 2920-48G-PoE+ Sw | 48 | Flexible options; optional 10G listed | 13 pounds | PoE+ |
| Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch ES-48-500W | 48 Gigabit Ethernet | — | 13.5 pounds | IEEE 802.3af/at and 24V passive |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Extreme Networks ExtremeSwitching 5320-48P-8XE 48-Port PoE+ Managed Switch with 10GbE Uplinks
I rank the 5320-48P-8XE first because its feature mix is the most directly aligned with a busy enterprise access layer: 48 PoE+ ports, eight 10GbE SFP+ uplinks, managed Layer 3 positioning, and stackable deployment. That combination gives a campus or larger office room to connect phones, access points, cameras, and workstations while retaining more uplink capacity than the other 48-port choices here.
Compared with the HP 2920-48G-PoE+, this Extreme model has a more clearly described modern management and fabric story, plus specified 10GbE uplinks. The HP may fit a replacement project built around existing equipment, but its listing gives less detail on software and uplink performance. Against the smaller 5320-16P-4XE, this is the better fit when port density and aggregate connectivity matter more than footprint or a modest endpoint count.
The cost of that scale is operational and physical: buyers need a team comfortable with managed network tools and should verify compatible infrastructure before relying on fabric services. The supplied information does not state the PoE budget or detailed routing protocols, so I would confirm both before deployment. Its weight and listed plastic case material also deserve a rack and equipment-room check rather than an assumption based on the enterprise feature set.
Pros:- 48 PoE+ access ports support dense endpoint deployment.
- Eight 10GbE SFP+ uplinks provide substantial aggregation capacity.
- Described as a stackable, managed Layer 3 switch with fabric services.
- ExtremeCloud IQ provides centralized management and monitoring.
Cons:- The supplied details do not specify total PoE power budget or exact Layer 3 protocols.
- Full feature value depends on compatible infrastructure and management familiarity.
- At 6.7 kg, it needs suitable rack support and careful installation planning.
Best for: Enterprise access closets and campus edge deployments that need 48 PoE+ connections, multiple 10GbE uplinks, and a managed Layer 3 platform.
Not ideal for: Small offices with few endpoints, teams that need a documented PoE budget before selection, or networks that cannot use its management and fabric features.
- Access ports:48 PoE+ ports
- Uplinks:8 × 10GbE SFP+
- Switch type:Managed, modular
- Layer capability:Layer 3 with fabric services described
- Management:ExtremeCloud IQ
- Data rate:10 gigabits per second listed
- Weight:6.7 kg
- Interface:PoE, SFP
Our verdict“I would choose the 5320-48P-8XE for dense enterprise access when its Layer 3 feature set and PoE budget check out against the deployment plan.”
Extreme Networks ExtremeSwitching 5320-16P-4XE 16-Port PoE+ Managed Switch with 4 10GbE SFP+ Uplinks
For smaller closets, the 5320-16P-4XE is my preferred compact enterprise-oriented option. It gives a site 16 PoE+ ports and four 10GbE SFP+ uplinks, a sensible ratio when the switch serves a limited endpoint group but still needs fast connections upstream. Its security features, including 802.1X and ACLs, make it more compelling for managed access than a small switch chosen only for its port count.
Compared with the 48-port 5320-48P-8XE, this model sacrifices endpoint capacity and half its uplink count, but takes a more focused role in a branch, floor, or specialized edge segment. It is also a more straightforward alternative to the MikroTik CRS328 for teams already using ExtremeCloud IQ or seeking the listed centralized management and security controls. The MikroTik offers more copper access ports and dual software options, but its configuration flexibility can bring additional administration work.
The main qualification is that the description does not state an exact Layer 3 protocol list or total PoE budget. I would validate those details against the planned endpoint load before treating it as a complete routing replacement. Its management platform is a benefit when it matches existing operations, but a team unfamiliar with enterprise network tools may find the setup heavier than a simpler switch. Its 5.24 kg weight also makes this less suitable for installations with strict weight or space limits.
Pros:- Four 10GbE SFP+ uplinks give a small access switch strong upstream options.
- PoE+ support covers common powered access devices.
- 802.1X and ACLs support controlled enterprise access.
- ExtremeCloud IQ provides centralized monitoring and automation.
Cons:- Sixteen access ports limit its fit for dense closets.
- The supplied description does not give total PoE budget or detailed routing protocols.
- Management tools may take time to learn for teams new to enterprise switching.
Best for: Branch offices, smaller floor closets, or segmented edge deployments needing PoE+, 10GbE uplinks, and centralized security management.
Not ideal for: Large access closets needing dozens of powered devices, buyers who need a documented PoE budget or protocol list, or teams avoiding managed-network complexity.
- Access ports:16 Gigabit Ethernet
- Uplinks:4 × 10GbE SFP+
- PoE:IEEE 802.3af/at PoE+
- Management:ExtremeCloud IQ
- Security:802.1X and ACLs listed
- Managed:Yes
- Weight:5.24 kg
- Warranty information:Amazon.com 30-Day Return Guarantee listed
Our verdict“I would select the 5320-16P-4XE when a compact edge site needs enterprise security and fast uplinks more than maximum port density.”
MikroTik CRS328-24P-4S+RM 24-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch with 4 SFP+ Ports and PoE
The CRS328-24P-4S+RM earns its place as the flexible middle option: 24 PoE-capable Gigabit ports, four 10Gbps SFP+ ports, and a choice between RouterOS and SwOS. That gives an experienced administrator room to tune the software approach while supporting powered devices and high-speed uplinks in a 1U rackmount unit. Its listed 500W built-in power supply and up-to-30W-per-port capability are useful planning figures, though I would still check the total available PoE budget and operating limits for the exact load.
Compared with the Extreme 5320-16P-4XE, MikroTik offers eight more copper ports and dual-platform flexibility, while Extreme has more explicit 802.1X, ACL, and centralized cloud-management information. Compared with the 48-port Extreme, the CRS328 suits a smaller access block and has fewer uplinks, but may be attractive where cost-sensitive hardware flexibility matters more than a uniform enterprise management plane. The listing describes Layer 3 capability, yet buyers should verify that RouterOS or SwOS supports the specific routing functions their design requires.
Its versatility is also its main hurdle. A team without MikroTik configuration experience may face a steeper learning curve, and SFP+ modules are not included, so optics or direct-attach cables need separate planning. The supplied description gives no warranty information. I would shortlist it for a technically confident network team, not for a site that needs a tightly guided, centrally standardized rollout.
Pros:- 24 PoE ports support a useful middle ground between small and dense edge closets.
- Four 10Gbps SFP+ ports provide high-speed uplink options.
- RouterOS and SwOS dual boot offer configuration flexibility.
- Rackmount 1U design and a listed 500W power supply suit closet deployments.
Cons:- RouterOS configuration can be challenging for less experienced administrators.
- SFP+ modules are not included.
- The supplied listing does not provide warranty details or a complete routing feature list.
Best for: Experienced network administrators fitting a mid-size closet with PoE endpoints, four 10Gbps uplinks, and a preference for software flexibility.
Not ideal for: Beginners seeking guided setup, organizations requiring a clearly documented enterprise routing feature set, or buyers who need optics included.
- Access ports:24 Gigabit Ethernet
- Uplinks:4 × 10Gbps SFP+
- PoE:Up to 30W per port listed
- Power supply:500W built-in
- Software options:RouterOS or SwOS
- Switch type:Managed, Layer 3
- Mounting:1U rackmount
- Power input:100–240V AC
Our verdict“I would choose the CRS328 when an experienced team values PoE density and platform flexibility more than turnkey centralized management.”
HP J9729A#ABA 2920-48G-PoE+ Switch (Renewed)
The HP 2920-48G-PoE+ is the pragmatic choice for a buyer replacing or expanding an existing installation built around this family. It supplies 48 Gigabit ports with PoE+, managed Layer 3 capability, and flexible uplink options, covering the core access-switch requirements for a conventional enterprise edge. Its ranking sits below the newer Extreme options because the provided listing is thin on management, performance, and uplink specifics, not because a 48-port PoE layout is inherently unsuitable.
Compared with the Extreme 5320-48P-8XE, the HP has less documented 10GbE capacity and no equivalent detail here about centralized cloud management or fabric services. That makes the Extreme an easier recommendation for a new, growth-oriented deployment. The HP can make more sense when compatibility with existing equipment and established operating practices matters more than adopting a newer platform. Its optional 10G ports may add flexibility, but the buyer should verify which modules and configuration are supported before planning around them.
The word Renewed is central to the buying decision. Condition, included accessories, software support, and warranty coverage need confirmation before this switch becomes a production edge dependency. At 13 pounds, it also needs a suitable rack. I would consider it for a careful refresh project with known compatibility requirements; for a greenfield rollout, the better-documented Extreme choices are easier to qualify.
Pros:- 48 Gigabit ports provide high access-port density.
- PoE+ supports powered enterprise edge devices.
- Managed Layer 3 capability is listed.
- Flexible uplink options may suit existing compatible infrastructure.
Cons:- Renewed condition can bring uncertainty around warranty and included parts.
- The supplied details do not specify software features or switching performance.
- Optional 10G uplink support requires compatibility checks.
Best for: Organizations refreshing an existing HP 2920 environment or needing a 48-port PoE+ managed switch for a familiar setup.
Not ideal for: Greenfield deployments requiring clearly documented 10GbE uplinks, detailed current software support, or predictable renewed-product warranty coverage.
- Access ports:48
- Port media:Twisted pair
- PoE:PoE+
- Layer capability:Layer 3
- Switch type:Managed, fixed
- Uplinks:Flexible options; optional 10G listed
- Condition:Renewed
- Weight:13 pounds
Our verdict“I would use the renewed 2920-48G-PoE+ mainly for a compatibility-led refresh after confirming condition, support, and uplink requirements.”
Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch ES-48-500W Managed PoE Gigabit Switch with SFP
The EdgeSwitch ES-48-500W has an appealing access-layer package: 48 PoE+ ports, two 10Gbps SFP+ slots, two 1Gbps SFP slots, and both graphical and command-line administration. It also lists support for standard 802.3af/at and 24V passive PoE, which can serve mixed deployments if the operator deliberately checks device compatibility. Its 70Gbps total data-transfer figure provides a useful switching-capacity reference, but it does not establish that this model is a full Layer 3 replacement.
That distinction is why I rank it last for a roundup specifically about Layer 3 enterprise edge switches. The supplied description calls it a Layer 2 switch with optional Layer 3 routing. Compared with the Extreme 5320-48P-8XE or HP 2920, whose descriptions identify Layer 3 capability directly, this model requires closer scrutiny of what “optional” routing means for the intended network. It may be a better fit where switching and PoE are primary and routing needs are limited or already handled elsewhere.
The GUI and CLI options give administrators more than one management route, but the listing does not spell out the routing feature set or support boundaries. Its 13.5-pound, full-width chassis also calls for rack space and suitable mounting. I would shortlist this switch only after confirming the exact Layer 3 functions and PoE budget; if local routing is mandatory, the more explicitly described Extreme models are safer starting points.
Pros:- 48 PoE+ Gigabit ports support dense access deployment.
- Two 10Gbps SFP+ and two 1Gbps SFP slots provide uplink choices.
- GUI and CLI administration accommodate different operating preferences.
- Supports IEEE 802.3af/at and 24V passive PoE as listed.
Cons:- The product is described as Layer 2 with optional Layer 3 routing.
- Exact routing functions and support boundaries are not specified.
- The full-width chassis is heavy and needs rack space.
Best for: Teams that mainly need a 48-port PoE access switch and can confirm that its optional Layer 3 routing meets a limited edge-routing requirement.
Not ideal for: Buyers who require an unambiguous full Layer 3 feature set, detailed routing protocol documentation, or a compact installation.
- Access ports:48 Gigabit Ethernet
- SFP uplinks:2 × 1Gbps
- SFP+ uplinks:2 × 10Gbps
- PoE:IEEE 802.3af/at and 24V passive
- Layer capability:Layer 2 with optional Layer 3 routing
- Data transfer rate:70Gbps total listed
- Dimensions:19.1 × 13.69 × 1.75 inches
- Weight:13.5 pounds
Our verdict“I would select the ES-48-500W for PoE-heavy Layer 2 access only after verifying that its optional routing covers the network’s actual Layer 3 needs.”

How We Picked
I ranked these switches around the work an enterprise edge device must do: connect users and access points, supply PoE where needed, route traffic locally when supported, and move aggregated traffic toward distribution or the core. Port count and uplinks matter because a switch with plentiful access ports can still bottleneck at its uplinks. I gave extra weight to models with a clear Layer 3 description and enough uplink capacity for dense access.
I also compared management and operational fit. Centralized management, security controls, and a clear software story can reduce effort across multiple closets, while flexible platforms may suit experienced network teams better than first-time administrators. The supplied product information varies in detail, so I avoid assuming unlisted routing protocols, power budgets, stacking behavior, or support terms. Where a listing describes Layer 3 only vaguely, or says routing is optional, I reflect that uncertainty rather than treating it as equivalent to an explicitly described Layer 3 switch.
Finally, I considered deployment friction: PoE standards, rack format, weight, product condition, and the need for compatible optics or infrastructure. My order puts the most convincing overall enterprise-edge fit first, followed by options that win in narrower situations. This is a comparison of the provided models and descriptions; buyers should confirm the exact software license, supported features, power budget, and current support status for their planned deployment.
| layer 3 switches for enterprise edge | Switch type | Layer capability | PoE |
|---|---|---|---|
| Extreme Networks ExtremeSwitch | Managed, modular | Layer 3 with fabric services described | — |
| Extreme Networks ExtremeSwitch | — | — | IEEE 802.3af/at PoE+ |
| MikroTik CRS328-24P-4S+RM 24-P | Managed, Layer 3 | — | Up to 30W per port listed |
| HP J9729A#ABA 2920-48G-PoE+ Sw | Managed, fixed | Layer 3 | PoE+ |
| Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch ES-48-500W | — | Layer 2 with optional Layer 3 routing | IEEE 802.3af/at and 24V passive |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Layer 3 Switches For Enterprise Edge
I would start with the network role, then check whether the switch can support the endpoint load and the routing design. The product descriptions do not provide every operational detail, so model-specific verification is part of the selection process.
Decide whether the edge switch must route
Layer 3 labels can cover different feature scopes. If the switch will route between VLANs or take on another local routing task, confirm the protocols, scale limits, licensing, and supported software version for the exact model. The Extreme 5320 models and MikroTik are described as Layer 3, while the Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch is described as Layer 2 with optional Layer 3 routing. I would not treat those descriptions as interchangeable without checking the detailed feature documentation.
Match port count and PoE capacity to the closet
Count endpoints that need power as well as ordinary data ports: access points, phones, cameras, and other powered devices can quickly use available PoE capacity. The 16-port Extreme targets smaller edge groups, MikroTik’s 24-port model sits between compact and dense, and the 48-port models suit larger closets. Do not infer total usable PoE power from a per-port limit or a power-supply rating alone; confirm the switch’s total PoE budget and account for the devices’ draw.
Size uplinks for aggregated traffic
Uplink choices influence how much combined traffic can leave the access switch. The 5320-48P-8XE has eight 10GbE SFP+ uplinks, while the 16-port Extreme and MikroTik each list four. The Ubiquiti lists two 10Gbps SFP+ slots plus two 1Gbps SFP slots. Check optic or cable compatibility, required link speeds, and how uplinks will connect to the rest of the network. A high access-port count does not by itself prevent uplink congestion.
Choose management your team can operate
Centralized tools can help when many switches need consistent monitoring and policy, making ExtremeCloud IQ relevant for teams already using that platform. MikroTik’s RouterOS and SwOS choice offers flexibility but can demand more hands-on configuration knowledge. Ubiquiti provides GUI and CLI access. For the HP renewed unit, the listing gives fewer software details, so I would confirm support and feature availability before making it part of a standardized rollout.
Check condition, support, and physical fit
Confirm rack depth, ventilation, power input, mounting requirements, and the weight your rack can carry. These models range from a 1U MikroTik rackmount design to heavier 48-port devices. The HP listing is renewed, which makes condition and warranty checks especially important. Across all five, verify current software support, available accessories, power supply details, and any required optics or cables before finalizing the design.
Frequently Asked Questions
What makes a Layer 3 switch useful at the enterprise edge?
A Layer 3 switch can combine access switching with routing functions, which may let a network route traffic locally between supported network segments rather than sending every packet elsewhere for that work. The right fit depends on the protocols, capacity, security controls, and management features the deployment needs. I would confirm those exact capabilities for the model and software version rather than relying only on a broad Layer 3 label.
Which switch here is best for a high-density PoE closet?
The ExtremeSwitching 5320-48P-8XE is the strongest fit in this group for dense access, with 48 PoE+ ports and eight 10GbE SFP+ uplinks. I would still check its total PoE budget against the combined draw of connected devices, since the supplied details do not state that figure. The HP and Ubiquiti also list 48 PoE ports, but their descriptions provide less assurance around newer uplink or Layer 3 requirements.
Do I need SFP+ modules for the listed uplinks?
Plan for compatible optics or direct-attach cables unless the listing explicitly says they are included. The MikroTik description specifically notes that SFP+ modules are not included. For every model, confirm supported transceivers, fiber type, reach, and any vendor compatibility requirements before ordering. The right connection depends on the receiving switch and the distance between equipment, not just the port label.
Is the Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch a full Layer 3 enterprise switch?
The supplied description identifies the ES-48-500W as a Layer 2 switch with optional Layer 3 routing. That is not enough information to assume it provides every routing function required for an enterprise edge design. I would review its detailed documentation for the specific protocols and capabilities in the network plan; if full, clearly specified Layer 3 operation is a hard requirement, the Extreme models or MikroTik are more direct candidates from this lineup.
What should I verify before buying the renewed HP 2920?
I would confirm the unit’s condition, included power and mounting parts, warranty coverage, software support status, and compatibility with the existing network. The listing identifies 48 Gigabit ports, PoE+, Layer 3 management, and flexible uplinks, but it does not detail software features or exact performance. Verify any optional 10G modules and confirm that the renewed unit meets the support expectations for a production switch.
Conclusion
For a dense campus or office edge, I would start with the Extreme 5320-48P-8XE, then verify its PoE budget and required routing features. For a smaller managed branch, the 5320-16P-4XE brings enterprise security controls and four 10GbE uplinks without the larger access-port count. Experienced teams wanting flexible mid-size PoE switching should compare the MikroTik CRS328 against their RouterOS or SwOS skills and optics needs.
For a legacy HP refresh, the renewed 2920 can suit a compatibility-led project after condition and support checks. I would choose the Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch only when its Layer 2-first design and optional routing match the plan. If full Layer 3 edge routing is mandatory, I would favor a model with a clearer feature description and confirm the exact routing support before deployment.
Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples' Day Picks
long weekend sales
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.





